Woe is Me

42f445aaef39214aed40904e0904bb70

My literary idols hail from Mantua and Florence.
I sat on a runway in Sicily for 15 minutes, once.
That’s the closest I’ve been to their greatness.

In my youth I owned a Davy Crockett hat
and once spent three long months in Waco, Texas.
That’s the closest I’ve been to The Alamo.

I traveled to Concord and Philadelphia,
walked the old, stone streets and touched the Liberty Bell.
That’s the closest I’ve been to Revolution.

I camped for two days in the South Dakota Badlands
and spent two hours walking around Little Big Horn.
That’s the closest I’ve been to Genocide.

I visited Robert Johnson’s grave at midnight
and put my hands in B.B. King’s in Indianola.
That’s the closest I’ve been to The Blues.

I met Bob Dylan on the road in Montgomery
and put the fear of God into his security team.
That’s the closest I’ve been to Death.

I read Allen Ginsberg and Alfred, Lord Tennyson,
studied Byron, Yeats and William Blake.
That’s the closest I’ve been to decent poetry.

One thought on “Woe is Me

Tell me what you think ...

