All right.

sunset_volleyball

“Did you ever watch Full House?” the woman asked.
I paused for a moment, then pantomimed the
phrase “Cut it out” using only my fingers.

She grinned. I chuckled. It was like we had our
own language. “Hey … do you want to hear a joke?”
she inquired. I nodded. She rubbed her hands

together like Mister Miyagi and said,
“What do you get when you mix The Beatles, The
Smashing Pumpkins and Orphan Annie?” I shrugged.

“Time,” she said. I didn’t laugh. This upset her.
Her ears turned red and she bit her upper lip.
She seemed more embarrassed than anything else.

“I guess I just don’t get it,” I told her. “Could
you explain the punchline? I’m a little slow.”
“Yesterday. Today. Tomorrow,” she stated.

I shifted my eyes back and forth in deep thought.
“Forget it,” she said. “It’s a terrible joke.”
I nodded. She sighed and took a drag from her

cigarette. Another train whistle sounded.
We looked at each other. “I think we both know
I’m not getting on that one either,” I said.

“That makes nine,” she replied. “When do you have to
go home?” I shrugged. I honestly didn’t know.
There was a long moment of silence as we

stood there committing the classiest form of
suicide, puffing away on our death sticks.
I leaned against the wall and stared at the sky.

The sun was inches over the horizon.
“Have you ever been to the beach?” I asked her.
She nodded. “You ever played beach volleyball?”

“No,” she told me, but I think she was lying
because her left hand brushed hair away from her
face and she shifted her weight from one foot to

the other. “Well,” I started. “At Venice Beach
they have something called Sunset Point. If you win
it you score two points instead of one. I think.

It’s been so long since I’ve been there, but … yeah. When
the sun dips into the water the sky turns
green for a fraction of a second. Very

few people can see it, but it’s quite lovely.”
The woman smiled, but stayed silent. I sighed.
“Anyway,” I said, inhaling acrid smoke,

“I have a question for you.” “Shoot,” she replied.
“Why’d you get so angry when I asked you to
follow me out of the coffee shop?” She laughed

and put a hand on her hip. “No one is going
to lead me around my hometown. Sorry if
that came across as wicked.” “Nah,” said I. “You’re…”

Tell me what you think ...

