Thunder

The rain came out of nowhere, washing the puke
away along with any remnants of the

previous few minutes’ conversation. The
clouds billowed and cold water screamed in sideways.

Kahn ran towards the shelter of the house with
the blue roof. The woman and I stood up and

shared a look that asked, “Well … now what do we do?”
I inhaled and turned towards the rail station.

She sighed and glanced at the river. “I’d ask you
back to my place,” she said, “but it’s being … uh,

renovated at the moment and … you know.
It’s a mess right now.” I nodded. “Will you go

to the station with me and hang out until
the next train shows up?” I asked. “Why not?” she said,

so we began to walk. Five minutes later
the rain had stopped and I looked up at the sky.

“The sun is shining,” I said and she nodded.
“But the ice is slippery,” she warned. “Watch out.”

“What ice?” I laughed. “It’s 50 degrees…” and then,
BAM. My back was on the ground. The woman laughed.

“I said watch out, dummy,” she said putting out
her hand to help me up. “How embarrassing,”

I mumbled, taking her hand and rising to
my feet. “Are you always such a klutz?” she asked.

I shrugged and nodded. “Yeah, pretty much,” I said.
“But I don’t usually fall when I slip.

I usually land on my feet, you know,
and the only thing that gets hurt is my pride,

but … well: Oww … shh …. oww … shh … oww … shh. And so on.”
“Stop being a pussy,” she said. “You’re all right.”

I nodded and we continued on our way.
“Hey … are you in love with me?” the woman asked.

“Pfft,” I replied, giving her a look that said,
“That’s ridiculous. How could I be in love

with you? I don’t even know you. I’m not sure
you’re even real. You might be a robot or

a computer program in a virtual
reality simulation of what life

once was on the planet Earth. Who knows? The point
is, yes … I think you’re wonderful. You are so

pretty I can’t even look at you when you
talk because the faces you make make me want

to shout, ‘This is what real beauty looks like!’ to
all who will listen. Not only that, but you’re

witty. You’re sharp, funny and slightly insane,
but I think that’s what I like most about you.

And wow, do I like you. I really, really
really, really, really, really, really like

you. But…” I sighed. “No,” I replied. “I’m not
love with you.” She nodded. “Could you be?” Cue the…

Tell me what you think ...

